Kinds of FFL Charges


According to the Gun Control Act of 1968, a Federal Firearms License (FFL) is compulsory for anybody importing, collecting, manufacturing, or obtaining weapons. The Act, intended to help state, federal, and local law enforcement officers in their continuous fight against violence and crime, was approved with three main objectives. These include getting rid of illegal movement in firearms in the criminal group of people, and forbidding dealings that would breach local laws. Anybody wishing to get a license should apply for one via the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives. A number of FFLs are accessible and each is legal for three successive years, although non-transferable.

Other Folks Are Reading

Type 1
• A Type 1 FFL is typically for traders of weapons like receivers, firearm frames, silencers, handguns and long guns (shotguns and rifles). Majority of the Type 1 arms are permitted by the National Firearms Act (NFA). The charge for this kind of FFL is $200.
Type 2
• Any trader of weapons carrying out business as a lender has to request for a Type 2 FFL. Generally this license covers the same guns as Type 1 weapons. The cost is $200 also.
Type 3
• Gatherers of Curio and Relic firearms should have a Type 3 FFL. These kinds of weapons fall into 3 groups. The first is weapons produced more than 50 years before. Weapons licensed by the custodian of a museum pertain to the second group. The third incorporates weapons acquiring a big part of their value since they are linked with historic figures or are rare. The Type 3 FFL lets an individual to collect the weapons, although it would be unlawful to collect for selling or buying. The fee for this kind of FFL is $30.
Type 6
• Producers of ammo and reloading parts except armor-piercing ammo should apply for a Type 6 FFL. The charge for this Type is $150. Type 6 FFLs includes damaging weapons and devices also under the National Firearm Act, or NFA. Damaging devices include sound suppressors, machine guns, shotguns and short-barrel rifles, as well as poison gases (bombs) and explosive devices, mines or grenades and large-bore arms like cannons, mortars and rocket launchers.
Type 7
• A Type 7 FFL is for producers of weapons, ammo and ammo parts except those under the National Firearms Act. These don’t include armor-piercing ammo and destructive devices. This FFL has a charge of $150.
Type 8
• Importers of ammo (not incorporating damaging devices) and weapons should a Type 8 FFL. This FFL has with a price of $150.
Type 9
• A Type 9 FFL is among the three more costly types, having a fee of $3,000. A trader of damaging devices under the NFA should have this license. Type 9 FFLs don’t include any other weapon under the NFA; just damaging devices.
Type 10
• This license is needed for producers of weapons, ammo and ammo parts. Although it covers damaging devices, it doesn’t include NFA arms or armor-piercing ammo. Price tag for Type 10 FFLs is $3,000.
Type 11
• The last license should be acquired by importers of destructive devices, ammunitions and firearms. These don’t include other arms covered by the National Firearms Act. Price of a Type 11 FFL is also $3,000.