How to get an FFL in Illinois Updated for 2021

With numerous gun control laws in the United States, starting a gun business is a bit more complicated than it used to be. The first step, however, is getting an FFL or Federal Firearms License. Different states have different requirements in obtaining an FFL. Below are the requirements in getting an FFL in Illinois.

Requirements to FFL holders

Before getting your Illinois FFL, you have to make sure you have all the requirements. The ATF and State of Illinois both have specific minimum requirements for an FFL.

Simply put, if you have your gun rights and are at least 21 years old, you can get an FFL. As long as you are a citizen of the United States you do have your gun rights. However, one’s gun rights may be restricted if one commits a felony. People considered as “prohibited persons” by the ATF are also not allowed to get an FFL.

In the State of Illinois, one must have a secure environment, must adhere to the local and community laws, as well as zoning requirements. If one has been a psychological patient or has used controlled substances, they are illegible for getting an FFL in Illinois.

Types of FFL

There are nine different classifications of FFL’s that gives a person different options when it comes to handling, importing, repairing, selling and manufacturing firearms. These different types of licenses have fees ranging from $30 to $200.

The types of licenses and what they provide the holder with are as follows:

    Type 01 FFL:

Allows the holder to deal in title 1 firearms. It also includes Gunsmiths who repair weapons.

    Type 02 FFL:

Allows pawnbrokers to take in firearms and return them to those who pawned the firearm.

    Curio & Relic:

Allows holders to purchase firearms manufactured 50years before the current date.

    Type 06 FFL:

This allows holders to manufacture and sell ammunition.

    Type 07 FFL:

This allows holders to manufacture firearms, however, they are not allowed to sell the manufactured firearms.

    Type 08 FFL:

This allows the holder to import title 1 ammunition and firearms from different countries.

    Type 09 FFL:

This allows holders to sell title 1 firearms and destructive devices that are considered by the National Firearms Act.

    Type 10 FFL:

This allows holders to manufacture title 1 firearms, ammunition, ammunition components, and destructive devices.

    Type 11 FFL:

This allows the holder to import title 1 firearms, ammunition and regulated destructive devices.

Once you have accomplished all the requirements needed and have chosen which FFL you want to obtain, the next step is to get an application form your local ATF office, filling out the form, get fingerprinted by your local law enforcement and include the fingerprint form with a passport size photo in your application.

Afterward, pay the fees to the ATF either by check, credit/debit card or money order (the ATF doesn’t accept cash).

Once that is done, mail the application, submit a copy of the application to your Chief of Police or Sheriff then prepare for an inspection. Inspections are usually required before receiving your FFL to make sure your business meets the ATF standards.

The ATF will also conduct background checks. Once you have your FFL an ATF officer may visit for an inspection at any time so be sure to prepare all records of sales and purchases.